My Little “Lorax”

treehouse

Took my 8 year old daughter to get some frozen yogurt after school yesterday.
She was sitting looking out the window and took a big scoop of yumminess into her mouth and her brow furrowed and she looked incredibly depressed all of a sudden…not the face I was expecting to see after a first bite of sugary goodness…

Me: “Sweetie..what’s wrong? Did you pick a flavor you dont like?”
Daughter: (Still staring off at the foothills in the distance) “No. It’s good. I like it.”
Me: “What’s troubling you love? You look so sad…”
Daughter: “What are humans doing to ourselves? I mean…look at all of those houses up there…big houses. Who needs that much room? Don’t they like being close to their kids? I hope there are still trees left when my kids are born…I can’t imagine not climbing trees or making tree forts with them.

When I grow up – Im going to have land with lots of trees and a tiny house so that my kids are near me all the time and we can go outside and enjoy nature together instead of living inside of nature that we killed so we can be further apart…yeah…or something like that…I need to figure out how to stop this.”

Watch out World…My little Tree hugger is “Thinking” of ways to ensure that she never lives in a world without trees.

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot,
Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” – Dr. Seuss – “The Lorax”

3 thoughts on “My Little “Lorax”

  1. It amazing how insightful children can actually be. Adults should listen more often to the wisdom of children.
    One year we stopped to donate to the Toys For Tots folks at the mall. My 5 year old was confused at why the group of Marines was there at first, and when he learned that some children didn’t get toys for Christmas, he was deeply troubled by this, and quiet for some time. Unknown to us, he was formulating a plan. Later on, when he spotted the mall Santa coming back from a break, he ran over and stopped the poor man right in the middle of the mall, and began scolding him for missing so many houses and not being careful at his ‘very important job’. The adults in earshot all giggled at the rather unenviable position the mall Santa found himself in. In an attempt to redirect my son, the guy asked him what he wanted for Christmas.
    My son looked thoughtful for a second, and said that he already had lots of toys, and if Santa couldn’t get to all the houses in time, that it would be OK to not to visit him that year if Santa could go to another house with no toys. No more giggling, just a few choked up adults at that point.
    I was surprised that a 5 year-old could think outside of themselves like that. Then I realized that small children often do – Its just very few adults that still can.

Leave a Reply

